Home made laundry soap

I have been itching to make my own laundry soap for a while.  I even bought some of the ingredients but I was just never excited about making liquid soap.  I use the powder and I wanted to keep doing that.  I was thrilled when I found a powder recipe.  We will see if it save me money.

The ingredients:

3 bars Fels Naptha Soap – 2.37 each or 7.11

1 box 20 Mule Team Borax – 3.99

1 box Arm & Hammer Washing soda – 3.79

Oxiclean Stain remover – 4.47

1 box Arm & Hammer baking soda – 2.39

Total cost 21.75

It filled the tide box I had, plus the Oxiclean container plus some left over.  I only need 1 tb so I am using the oxiclean scoop.  I have done my first load today so I don’t know how well it works.

Lessons learned:

1.  Grating 1 bar of Fels Naptha Soap by hand is more than my arm can handle

2.  My food processor can do it fast but kind of messy and loud.

 

I will report in later how this goes.

Leave a comment